Last Updated: Feb 27, 2017
Top 25 Websites for Teaching and Learning
From the American Association of School Libraries
Images from these sources wll be useful for a variety of disciplines.
LUNAcommons.org is a free public resource for users to discover primary source materials with authoritative descriptive data. Collections are from reputable sources for educational and public use.
- Creative Commons
You can choose to search images for commerical, educational, or private use. Some images, audio and video files are licensed to be altered to new works.
Our educational policy is as follows
(1) Students may download and use our images in their own work. A credit to (c) Ian Britton - FreeFoto.com is required.
(2) An individual teacher may make use of our images in the course of their own personal teaching work. A credit to (c) Ian Britton - FreeFoto.com is required.
(3) For Universities, colleges, etc. you may use our Internet size images for free. A credit to (c) Ian Britton - FreeFoto.com
OAIster currently provides access to 21,726,773 records from 1119 contributors.
- American Memory/Library of Congress
- New York Public Library Digital Gallery
- Catalog of American Portraits
Search more than 80,000 portrait records from the Catalog of American Portraits (CAP). NOTE: Many entries will not have an image due to copyright restrictions.
- Public Domain Review
"The Public Domain Review aspires to become a bounteous gateway into the whopping plenitude that is the public domain, helping our readers to explore this rich terrain by surfacing unusual and obscure works, and offering fresh reflections and unfamiliar angles on material which is more well known."
- Ephemera Studies
This site is devoted to the identification, preservation, publicizing, and study of ephemeral publications that provide more-nuanced pictures of American culture and life. Because intended to aid scholars as well as collectors, this site focuses on artifacts preserving obscure information and imagery. (It excludes already-familiar ephemera such as posters, labels, comic books, and most cards). (Mission Statement)
Matapihi is a window onto the online collections of a number of New Zealand cultural organisations.
Items available through Matapihi are about New Zealand, made in New Zealand, created by New Zealanders, or held in New Zealand collections. Geography, history, the natural environment, people and events are featured. You can find moving images, photographs, drawings, paintings, sculpture, texts and some 3-d virtual museum objects, as well as a small number of sound files.
- vads: the online resource for visual arts
VADS is a searchable online resource with image collections covering fashion, textiles, architecture, design, posters, political cartoons, photography, sculpture, painting and more. The collections are UK centric as the resource was created for use by educators and students in the UK.
- World Images
The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It has just been selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in its historic collection of Internet materials. It contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.
Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage.
Ideas and inspiration can be found within the more than 15 million items on Europeana.